Angie Palmer at Vagina Monologues

Photo courtesy of HER Fund

Valentine’s Day has always been a torture for me for the last decade. Don’t ask me for any details as it’s neither interesting nor worth discussing. To be safe, I have decided to have a date with girls, rather than boys this year.  I spent it with 10 other actresses performing The Vagina Monologues on stage in Bisous in Lan Kwai Fong, Hong Kong. If you read my post about V-Day Hong Kong 2013 posted on January 22, then you know what I’m talking about. The piece I did last night was Vagina Workshop.

I must tell you that it’s quite a nerve-wrecking experience though I have done theater work or even intense monologue like the one I did for One People, One Race, One Peace in the U.S. where I performed a piece about Nanking Massacre in Cantonese, reliving the agony of witnessing the murder of her parents and thousands of other people she knew.

Performing a 3-page, 10-minute-long monologue about vagina and orgasm instilled a different kind of stress. As I mentioned in the other post, Chinese don’t talk about topics like these openly. So, it was not just about memorizing a long, demanding script but also overcoming my own psychological and cultural barriers.

“It’s for charity. You are an actress. You can do it…you have to do it, ” I told myself repeatedly.

So I did. I was extremely relieved that I didn’t forget any lines or stumble. It was even more liberating after reading the wonderful and speedy theater review from HKELD.

Read about the show and what each Vagina Monologue was about here: http://www.hkeld.com/articles/view/reviewthe-vagina-monologuesv-day-2013

About Angie Palmer

actress l emcee l model l producer l vegan l writer http://www.angiepalmer.me

Your thoughts?

