image

Finding a good afternoon tea place in Hong Kong is a piece of cake. This British tradition continues after 1997 and you can drop by any local eateries or 5-star hotels for a high tea set around 3pm here. However, it’s quite a different story for vegans. Most restaurants serve cakes, scones, sandwiches, macarons, French toasts, chicken wings, deep fried fish, but never vegan baked goods and snacks.

I’m thankful to my friend Bruce who introduced me to Greenfield Cafe in Sheung Wan. It’s a very small cafe in a corner, right across from my gym Fitness First, but I never walked in there, not even a peep. I ordered a spring roll and samosa tea set with camomile tea for only HK$21 (US$2.70). He ordered a special-order avocado, lettuce, and tomato sandwich with coffee for a similar price. I love local places like this that are flexible and vegan-friendly.

Support local businesses and try these small cafes next time. You’ll be amazed how vegan-friendly it is in Hong Kong once you discover all these hidden gems.

 

About Angie Palmer

actress l emcee l model l producer l vegan l writer http://www.angiepalmer.me

Your thoughts?

